Far Flung Four is dead

28 Oct

Long live Far Flung Four!

OK, I’m calling it. After a year, 52 topics, 183 posts and 784 comments, Far Flung Four is having a sleep. A big, big sleep.

But I’m confident that it’ll be back in a while from now. Or maybe even a shorter time. Who knows?

What I do know is that I really enjoyed writing for it, and reading all the entries. I loved the sense of closeness it gave me to the other flingers, and to our faithful readers, especially Mischa and Suzy.

I look at my weeks now and I’m not sure where I fitted in writing my posts. That time has been quietly eaten up by other things. Most notably the fair.

So it’s so bye for now I think…unless someone wants to try a last ditch resuscitation  Things have changed a lot for my fellow flingers in the past few months. All of whom have relocated, or are in the process of relocating, and there’s lots of change happening in work and family and life in general.

This weekend I took part in an oral history project where I was interviewed about my life and how I have been affected by things like technology, place, family and belonging. I got to tell someone my life story! Crazy, amazing, tiring, teary. It took over six hours, and I’m feeling pretty exhausted, but it was a great thing to have been a part of. I mentioned this blog in the interview, and remembered what a cool thing it has been – touching on every single one of those topics, and much more.

So…. Thanks for the laughs and the thoughtful insights and the feeling that I’m a part of something much bigger than myself. I miss our philosophical chats, our silly rants – all of it. But I’m also glad it died out with a bang and not a wimper.

I look forward to when we reconvene, whenever that is.

Love, Beth

5 Responses to “Far Flung Four is dead”

  1. Tabitha October 29, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    Thanks for writing this, Beth. I was lying in bed just this morning thinking about how much I missed hearing life updates from the other Flingers. But I agree that it’s a good time for a break.

    It was such a great blogging experience, wasn’t it? I felt so well-connected to the goings on in the lives of the other writers, even though we were writing on seemingly impersonal topics. Now I really miss hearing your weekly news, and I’m especially desperate to know about the recent major life changes for Karen and Justyna.

    I also did a great deal of thinking and contemplation in preparation for writing posts. For me it was a very fruitful process of self-reflection and also of discipline in writing regularly. A winner on all fronts, really.

    It’s hard to end a blog, but like you say, I think we end with a great sense of accomplishment and completion. I am super-proud of how long our run was, and of what we got out of it. Hooray for us! And double hooray to anyone who read or left a comment!

    Love to youse all,
    x Tabitha

  2. Claudia October 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    It’s sad to see the blog go… I will miss your updates here. I loved your format of having a random word to write about and reflect upon. It’s been a great read and I will go through the archive. Thank you all!

    • Beth October 30, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      Thanks Claudia. I hope that we come back to it at a later date, but it just wasn’t working for us at the moment. I’ll be blogging over at commasanddots.com sporadically in the meantime, and yes, do check out the archive. There were some doozies. ‘Engineer’ is one of my favourite posts. I agree with you Tabs about the thinking and prep time being particularly valuable. I will miss that weekly contemplation.

  3. mischa November 2, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    bye bye (for now) ladies! i’ve enjoyed this blog so much. i’ll miss you all! please drop me a line if any of you starts a new blog (i’ll check out commas and dots, beth.) best of luck for the new chapters in each of your lives. xx

  4. Karen November 6, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    As I may have mentioned, I am planning to start a new “home blog” soon. Soon keeps slipping which isn’t a good sign, but I’ll build up a stock of posts so that I have spares for when I’m lazy.

    I can’t do as much justice to FFF as you ladies have above so I won’t attempt it. Thanks to the flingers and commenters alike, from the heart.

Leave a Reply

