Saliva – by Karen

16 Aug

Saliva last week made me think of drool, of lusting after things I don’t have. I used to spend SO MUCH TIME doing that as a teenager. The era of saliva. CDs, clothes, boys, travel – all so entirely unattainable and desperately desired.

Fortunately I don’t spend so much time on it these days, but found myself in the ridiculous position the other day of coveting someone’s front garden. The snowdrops were nodding, the jonquils were beaming, I think there were even some poppies popping up amongst the lavender. And I felt that sense of distress at not having – it was an anxious thing to behold this beautiful sunny garden because mine doesn’t look like that yet. How ridiculous.

The other day the Goulds were watching Gardening Australia again, and there was a 93 year-old called Mavis who said so many awesome things, but among the less immediately inspiring was how gardens “looking nice” was an essential thing for the community. I thought of Mavis again after my anxious moment before my neighbour’s bulbs and thought – “for the community”. For me.

You see, I read a book a while back, can’t remember the name, it was one of those things where someone writes about style and fashion, but is obviously quite intelligent and thus feels the need to justify their interest in such vacuous topics. From memory, her reasoning was that dressing well enhanced the “jollity of the nation.” What a fantastic phrase. And indeed it can.

When I see a gorgeous outfit, or garden as the case may be, my mental exercise is to consider it there in service of my jollity. I don’t need to lust after it, because it’s already mine.

4 Responses to “Saliva – by Karen”

  1. Beth August 17, 2012 at 6:11 am #

    I know that feeling you’re talking about. That is a good way of rationalising your way out of getting all green-eyed. I find I get like that over something e.g. a beautiful garden, but then I think about whether I’d be prepared to put the work into making my garden like that, and the feeling goes away with its tail between its legs. I am so grateful that some people can be bothered to do that sort of thing though. As you say, it is for the community.

    • Karen August 17, 2012 at 7:06 am #

      Another good strategy :-)!

  2. Justyna August 17, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    I loved that last paragraph. It is so true. My mum always made that point about dressing. So that there a nice things to look at while you’re out and about. Having said that I’m dressed as a hobo at the moment. Out and about having coffee. Not giving much pleasure to anyone.

    • Karen August 20, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      heheh, I wasn’t very generous with the aesthetic pleasures myself today. At least we’re not making anyone painfully jealous 😉

Leave a Reply

