Rarity – By Beth

13 Aug

Thinking to myself, what’s rare? What’s a rarity in my life? In the world? I am tempted to write about how rare time to myself to do whatever I want is (bit exhausted by the whole parenting thing at the moment). Actually I will do just that.

Here’s a list of all the things I would like to do:

  • Read/knit for a whole day
  • Have a massage
  • Spend a day taking photos and working on creative stuff
  • Eat dinner without L sitting/squirming on my lap, and then asking me to run around the house after him.

It’s nice to know that list isn’t so long, actually. I have a burning desire to read at the moment – so many good books on the go. Thank you to Suzy for the hot tip about ‘Love and Hunger‘ – I devoured that in double-quick time. Very enjoyable! And Leo is loving ‘The Tiger Who Came to Tea’. I’m reading a book by the vulnerability TED woman – Brene Brown, called ‘I Thought it Was Just Me (But it isn’t): Telling the Truth about Perfectionism, Inadequacy and Power’, and also ‘Bird By Bird: Instructions on Writing and Life’ by Anne Lamott.

After writing about how important friendships are to me as an only child last week, I read this article about the challenge of making friends in your 30s and 40s, and how new friendships are a rarity in adult life. I liked how it talked about having different friends for different purposes: your exercise friend, your work friend, your parenting friend. It’s very different to the high school days of BFFs that you do everything with, but rather than it being a sad thing, it also shows how many more dimensions there are to you as you get older. The day that I read that article I went out to dinner with a *new* friend, and we talked non-stop for almost three hours. I was enlivened by that feeling of having so much to say to someone and being interested in all that they have to say. That feeling is certainly rarer after high school/uni days, but that makes it all the more precious.

One Response to “Rarity – By Beth”

  1. AmyK August 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Thank you for the link to TED…it’s a site that is perfect timing for my life! And I enjoy reading all 4 of you!!

Leave a Reply

