False – by Karen

29 Jul

I started my new boot camp class a couple of weeks ago, and found myself in the middle of a gym drama. The woman who had taken the previous weeks’ classes, which I had enjoyed, turns out to have been a fill-in for another trainer, who arrived this week. I met one of my co-exercisers on the stairs, who said, “Oh, Cherie’s back,” with a roll of her eyes. “Cherie?” I asked. “Yeah, she’s the normal trainer, but Daniela was way better.” This did turn out to be true, and the new trainer was fairly unengaged. She also filled the room with a cigarette smoke halo, which is kind of weird for a fitness trainer. Seemed like a very nice person though.

Anyhow, afterwards, all the gym girls congregated for coffee while Cherie got a talking to from the gym manager. Suddenly, all the women were excitedly speculating that she might be being fired.

Cherie joined us for coffee, a bit teary, to report that she’d been told to stop talking so much and to give me heavier weights.

Suddenly, all the women were shocked. How could he do that? Doesn’t he know they all love Cherie? In fact, they’d all stop coming if Cherie left. When they saw that hot young Daniela, they just wanted to give up. Clearly Gym Boss doesn’t understand women.

Well, by the end of that, I felt like I didn’t understand women either. To be more honest, I understood all too well, and the scenario was all too familiar. High school. Groups of girls. The bitching and the sucking up in rapid-fire succession. Wanting to get Girl A on side by supporting them, then wanting to bond with Girl B by tearing Girl A down behind their back.

It tastes sweet at the time, but leaves a nasty after-taste. Like a spoon full of aspartame.

4 Responses to “False – by Karen”

  1. Tabitha July 30, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    This tale has left me seething! I’m all for bitching behind people’s backs, but to have so many witnesses to your hypocrisy, and be okay with that, is revolting. Why didn’t they use the opportunity to say to Cherie, “Well, there are different teaching styles, and it’s always hard when you go from one to another. I love your classes but one thing I did enjoy about Daniela’s was… “. They have no right to whinge about Cherie again, because they missed their opportunity to actually improve the situation. I HATE THESE PEOPLE.

    Now, Karen Lara Gould. I know that you’re new to this group, so in an awkward situation, but why didn’t YOU say something? Never known you not to pipe up. Easier said than done, I know. But who cares about getting on the bad side of these biatches anyway. Blurgh.

    • Beth July 30, 2012 at 5:51 am #

      Ha! Boot camp politics!! They’re the worst. I’ll bore you with my own version of this sometime. Let’s just say that similar things happen everywhere. Grrr!

      • Karen August 5, 2012 at 9:55 am #

        haha, can’t wait to hear it Beth!

    • Karen August 5, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      You’re right, one of the worst things about it is that Cherie never got the honest feedback she needed.

      I also was very aware that this was not a moment for hypocrisy, and was very careful to reply that I did in fact want heavier weights, which I felt was “doing my bit” in the honesty stakes, without commenting on the overall situation, which I hadn’t been around long enough to weigh in on. If I do get the chance to talk to the women without Cherie being right there to get upset, I may indeed ask them why they aren’t just more honest with her.

Leave a Reply

