Misnomer – by Justyna

14 Jul

My Polish has improved greatly in the last six years. The vocabulary as well as the true meanings of certain words. There were words that I knew existed but never knew the true meaning of them, giving them my own definitions based on, say, the onomatopoeic value of the word I heard used by others. Please see below the anecdote Michal likes to share with people about how Justyna was once a massive embarrassment to him:

 A semi-filled tram in Krakow. Michal and I are young, just married, and look respectable if not in love. All the seats are taken but there is enough space for sound to resonate.

 Michal at one end of the tram carriage, Justyna at the other.

Justyna: “Hej fiucie, masz bilet?”

Michal does not respond and looks away pretending he doesn’t know me. Laughter erupts from passengers around.

In-translation: what I thought I said

Justyna: “Oi, spazzy, have you got a ticket?”

In-translation: what I actually said

Justyna: “Oi, cock-head, have you got a ticket?”

Once Michal explained the true meaning of the word “fiut” my brain stopped regarding it as an endearing albeit politically incorrect vocative case.

11 Responses to “Misnomer – by Justyna”

  1. Beth July 15, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    LOL!

  2. Karen July 15, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Just laughed so much I had a massive coughing fit 🙂

    • Justyna July 15, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      Glad I could entertain you both with my stupidity!

  3. Zielor July 15, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Bahahahaha!!! Like Sarah Turnbull’s Almost French in which she described how her French boyfriend had brought his colleagues home for lunch & after food she asked him “Tu vieux une pipe?” (Do you want a pipe?) thinking that he was looking for one of his pipes. The colleague cracked up laughing & wanted to find himself an Australian girlfriend! She actually said “Do you want a blowjob?” as opposed to “ta pipe”… hehehe. Same here in Argentina, there are a multitude of words for “dick” so it’s very likely that I’ve used a word in such a way that I didn’t understand the significance… Noice!

  4. Michal July 15, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    “I am just a soul whose intentions are good
    Oh Lord, please don`t let me be misunderstood”
    nah , nah, nah, nah, nah, nah
    🙂

  5. Tabitha July 16, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    Aww, you big spaz.

  6. Michal July 16, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    And by the way – please make Julek alive in your flinger description 🙂

    • Beth July 17, 2012 at 5:15 am #

      Yes! I agree. Karen sent us the instructions for how to do that a while back… can dig it out again if you need them.

    • Beth July 17, 2012 at 5:16 am #

      Also, loving the spousal engagement with FFF Michal (and Richard)!

  7. mischb August 12, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    tee hee hee hee hee

  8. mischb August 12, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    i’ve always been a fingernail-biter and still remember being mortified pnce when my mum told me to stop biting my nails and i told her i was just pushing down my testicles (cuticles), much to my brothers’ collective mirth.

Leave a Reply

