Social misnomer – by Karen

13 Jul

Justyna may apologise for her double-themer posts, but I take my hat off to her. I mean, social misnomer? What the hell am I going to write?

This is the first time I’ve used a computer in the new house. I’ve got it tethered to my mobile as it seems it will take upwards of two weeks to get ADSL connected. We’re not in Singapore any more!

It’s been excellent not having a computer around though, and we’re thoroughly enjoying all our errands. We have bank accounts and medicare cards, and I even have my first Australian driver’s license. We’ve bought a chicken coop, met the neighbours, and told the neighbours about the chicken coop (all clear!). We seem to have ourselves some bonza neighbours. The kids seem to like their new life, even though they don’t have any tables, television or a fridge. Luckily grandma and grandpa up the road have all that stuff.

Richard and I have been thoroughly amusing ourselves by adopting the personas of what we must consider to be a prototypical Australian couple. All conversations have taken place in pure ocker for around two weeks leading up to our departure from Singapore (we watched the Castle for inspiration). We’ve been having jocular conversations with all customer service staff, and anyone else we run into on the street. Yet as over the top as the jocularity has felt, observing the interaction between two middle-aged ladies in the next Target queue brought me crashing back down to earth. We’re not even half way there yet.

So anyhow, social misnomer? What’s that when it’s at home!? Better luck next week, mate.

ETA: I’ll tell you what’s a social misnomer! Far Flung Four! Now that I’m back in Australia, the jig is officially up. We’ll be proceeding as normal I guess, and keep the name cos we’re sentimental like that. Any further suggestions from our legion readers are welcome. 

5 Responses to “Social misnomer – by Karen”

  1. Tabitha July 14, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    Such an enthusiastic and whole-hearted homecoming! I’m really happy for you guys. Happy chicken shopping!

  2. Beth July 14, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Good neighbours are worth their weight in gold. Look forward to seeing you guys and meeting the chickens!

  3. Justyna July 15, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Glad the move went smoothly. Now go dump the kids on the grandparents and live it up a bit!

  4. Suzysiu July 25, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    You enjoyed going to Medicare, RTA and a bank?! You must be happy!
    (my last trip to Medicare involved a big tantrum over a lost sticker as I filled out paperwork at the counter, so I’m not feeling the love, though I bought a nice lamington afterwards to recover from the staring)

    • Karen July 25, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      It was surprisingly efficient, although I am definitely finding Australians more judgey when it comes to tantrums. Especially Australians of a certain age. So I can relate to your need for lamingtons. Had quite the serve of red wine with dinner tonight.

Leave a Reply

