Exposed – by Karen

4 Jun

Just something I’ve noticed. A lot of the people that I find most obnoxious or grating share this thing. They have completely misevaluated (WordPress tells me this isn’t a word) what they have to offer and its worth. So you get people who are not especially smart but awesomely funny trying to shout their way through a political argument (unsuccessfully) when they could be the life of the party. Or someone who’s smart and kind trying to be the blondest, tannest trophy wife. Or someone who’s ambitious and Machiavellian pretending to be a compassionate conservationist. To impress their friends, I mean, when in fact, their friends love them for what they’re actually good at. They’re so worried that they’ll be exposed for lacking what they think they need to have to be worthy of love, that they live most of their social life in an unnecessary state of fail. It’s the desperation in the scramble to avoid exposure that irritates.

5 Responses to “Exposed – by Karen”

  1. Beth June 4, 2012 at 4:27 am #

    Very interesting! and very specific. It’s good to know what gets your goat.

    I get annoyed by people who possess traits that I dislike in myself. It’s a constant source of self-flagellation. (Gosh, I hate self-flagellators) — SEE!

    • Karen June 5, 2012 at 3:45 am #

      Heheh, it is often said that the traits that annoy us most are our own flaws. So much so that after writing that post I had to sit down and think very hard about whether it described me. I didn’t get very far though because I couldn’t decide which of my strong points I imagine and which I underestimate – all candidates seemed likely!

  2. Tabitha June 5, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    Oh I hear you, Karen.

    • Justyna June 5, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      I did a self-analysis too…and started comparing myself to my mother.

      • Karen June 9, 2012 at 3:55 am #

        Well that’s always fruitful 😉

Leave a Reply

