Forecast – by Karen

13 May

It’s Mother’s Day! Amongst typical weekend antics of whining, fighting, sucking the life out of music lesson, and asking for a macaron when offered a square of chocolate, my kids have also managed to amuse me.

Finn: When we go out later, we can get you a present
Me: Ok, but just talk about it with Dada, it’s got to be a surprise
Finn: But I know what we could get, we-
Me: No! Don’t tell me
Finn: I just want to give you a clue
Me: I don’t want a clue
Finn: Just a clue though
Me: I don’t want a-
Finn: It has seven eyes.
Me: ….

So, foreboding and forbidding as that  was, I should share with you some other Forecasts as per the topic this week.

Someone, I think it was Beth, once asked for predictions for 2012, and mine was “coloured car tyres”. I stand by that. Some more forecasts:

Weather: Easy in Singapore. Humidity will be 90-100 per cent. It will be very hot, then slightly cooler for five minutes, prior to a thunderstorm, then it will be hot again, including during the thunderstorm. Which day was that forecast for? It doesn’t matter.

Fashion: Something that was previously fashionable and looks very ugly will suddenly be worn by people who are cool. Then other people will wear it. Then time will pass. Then they will all stop wearing it, except occasionally. Then I will wear it, cursing myself all the while.

Technology: Something that HP tried to make happen 12 years ago will be released by Apple. People will like it. Then HP will release a less popular version (for HP, you can substitute any hardware manufacturer).

Movies: A good one has to come out soon. Surely.

Nathan: Will find himself employed before he and Tabitha have a chance to enact their Thailand game plan. They will both feel slightly disappointed with themselves for not feeling slightly disappointed.

Food: Mini dacquoise will be the new macaron. I’ve been calling this since a trip to Japan two years ago, but fuck it, this has to happen.

In Japan, even Starbucks has ’em. That’s the future, people.

13 Responses to “Forecast – by Karen”

  1. Beth May 13, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Bring on the Mini dacquoise!

    I know that 3D printing is a reality, but I’m excited about it. Once it gets really good.

    • Karen May 13, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      I still can’t get my head around 3D printing. Going to go google it… again.

  2. Tabitha May 13, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    I say the artisan doughnut is the new macaron. But I’m all for the mini dacquoise.

    What was your mother’s day surprise? And did it have seven eyes.

    Nathan and I discussed your forecast for us. So you’re predicting we won’t be disappointed if we don’t get to go on our holiday? Interesting. We think we will be, but who knows. I spent most of Friday researching our bungalow and holiday logistics. And then I spent this morning researching Canberra rentals and organic veggie box deliveries. What’s going on in our minds is anyone’s guess!

    • mischb May 14, 2012 at 1:45 am #

      you should come to melbourne. come on, you know you want to. and two of your sisters live in victoria now, don’t they? we have organic vege boxes to burn here, baby. oh yeah. plenty of Commonwealth public servants round the place too.

      • Tabitha May 14, 2012 at 2:06 am #

        Melbourne is our first choice, Mischa! But there don’t seem to be many jobs there for Nathan to apply for. He’s applying for jobs all over the place though, but it seems like Canberra is just statistically more likely to come through.

        For your interest, our preferred cities are, in order: Melbourne, Sydney, Hobart, Darwin, Brisbane, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth.

      • Karen May 14, 2012 at 2:18 am #

        I am saddened and surprised by this. I am telling myself you are just lying to Mischa to spare her feelings.

      • mischb May 14, 2012 at 2:19 am #

        what kind of work is nathan looking for? i’ll keep my eyes peeled…

    • Karen May 14, 2012 at 2:16 am #

      Well, here’s the thing. I figured the trick to making predictions is to just state stuff with utter conviction and hope that everyone forgets what you said by tomorrow. So I dunno 🙂 But I was totally spot on with the weather.

  3. Tabitha May 13, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Ooh, I want that mini dacquoise so badly. Make it go away!

    • Karen May 14, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      The world wants it so badly!

  4. Justyna May 13, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    I would totally buy coloured car tyres. In fact I think you should expand the concept to prams and to bikes. And to motorcylces. Oh, and TRACTORS!!!

    • Karen May 14, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      TRACTORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Beth May 14, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    I love you guys.

Leave a Reply

