Nudity by Beth

24 Apr

BOTTOMS make me think of NUDITY. What’s the nudity factor in your households? I think it has everything to do with the level of nudity that you were raised with as a child. I was raised with a fairly high degree of in-house nudity. No going to a nudist beach for holidays or anything, but we didn’t always close the door when we went to the toilet, and I remember my parents being naked wasn’t a big deal. I mostly didn’t see Dad naked after a certain age, but Mum kept up the nude factor. I must have been more shy with my own nudity, being a teenager and all, but now I’ve BECOME MY PARENTS. Of course! It is inevitable.

Not feeling it is essential to go to the toilet with the door closed is very handy for having a toddler (who wants to sit on your lap as you pee). But that’s the only real benefit I can see to my nudity policy. Everything else is surely just a matter of choice and taste.

My dear ex-flatmate and I (a woman) were both on the same page with a bit of incidental nudity and it made for a very harmonious household.

I like nothing more than staying in my PJs as long as possible, but failing that, if I have to have a shower, I’ll do my daily house-business in the nude if at all possible. Jeff has different ideas about nudity. As in, it’s not how you do the housework/cook dinner. He will tell me I’m nude (when I am nude), as if I may just have forgotten to dress. “Thank you dear”, I say for the 1,000th time, totally not intending to get some clothes on. The other day I was making lunch in the nude and Leo came and told me I wasn’t wearing any clothes. See, you BECOME LIKE YOUR PARENT/S, even when you’re only 2 years old!

5 Responses to “Nudity by Beth”

  1. Tabitha April 25, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    As a nude prude, this post is horrifying.

    • Beth April 25, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Oh man, not you too!

  2. Karen April 25, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Bit of a prude here too. Also way less tolerant in the toilet situation. But I think a lot of my aversion to being nude around the house is due to having inconvenient boobs. They always feel like they might fall off or something. Also I have an employee living in my house, so… that’s not really cool.

  3. mischb May 7, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    i’m with you beth! if only melbourne weren’t so cold, i would nude it up much more often. i still remember when i was little coming out into the kitchen to find my mum doing the dishes in the nude. well, not quite. she was wearing rubber gloves.
    so there was plenty of nudity in my household growing up and i think we’re all pretty nude-friendly now. matt has remarked a few times on how my (39 and 37 yo) brothers are perfectly happy to hang out with us wearing only their underpants.

    • Beth May 7, 2012 at 4:11 am #

      Finally, a fellow nude non-prude!

Leave a Reply

