Hello, my name is Beth and I’m addicted to communication

3 Apr

Hello! This is probably really boring for anyone else to read, but I used this week’s topic as an excuse to tally up all the phone and computerised communications I sent and received over a week. The results are a bit frightening.

Facebook & Twitter

  • I posted 11 photos/statuses/links
  • I made 39 comments on other people’s content, and ‘liked’ 77 pieces of others’ content
  • I sent 7 messages and received 10
  • Added 2 new friends (Hello Mischa!)
  • Therefore: initiated 136 pieces of communication
  • Received 184 comments/messages/likes on my content
  • Sent 1 tweet!
  • 322 total pieces of direct communication (not counting all the posts of others’ that I read but didn’t comment on or ‘like’

Email (not counting notifications, newsletters or anything sent by a robot)

  • 71 emails sent (40 of them work emails)
  • 97 emails received (50 work emails)

Phone (both mobile and home phone)

  • I made 17 phone calls
  • Received 17 calls
  • I sent 24 text messages and received 23

Total = 571 pieces of phone/electronic/social media communication. Average of 82 communications a day.

Madness.

On a side note, yesterday Leo and were waving hello at the guy driving the council street-cleaning truck and he insisted we go over and take his banana from him. That’s good incentive for saying hello, huh.

11 Responses to “Hello, my name is Beth and I’m addicted to communication”

  1. Justyna April 3, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    That is intense. What strikes me though, comparatively, the declining amount of ‘talking’ communication. I remember the high school years glued to the phone. I reckon I averaged about 1.5-2h/day.

  2. Karen April 4, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    I always hated talking on the phone so this era works for me. Or does it? Since we got smart phones, Richard and I have basically become AUGMENTED by the internet. Unless we are physically and mentally engaged in some other activity, we are on our phones by default. I have started to cut down.

  3. Tabitha April 4, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    The other day I was scoffing at the table next to us in a cafe where all four members of the family were using iPads and iPhones over breakfast. And then Nathan and I got out our iPhones and started playing Draw Something with each other. WHAT IS WRONG WITH US.

    I might try this screen-free week bizzo that you mentioned Beth. I bet I will be unable to do it. Nice tie-in with Justyna’s post on self-discipline.

  4. Beth April 4, 2012 at 4:15 am #

    Haha! Glad to hear we’re not the only ones. Jeff and I (mostly) don’t look at our electronic devices while Leo is awake, but once he’s asleep we sit next to each other on the couch, laptops on our laps, getting our internet fix. It’s gross, but I feel powerless to stop it. We have a timer switch that turns the power to our wireless airport giver of internet at 10pm. Although we almost always turn it straight back on we make sure it’s only for a couple of minutes and then go and attack the washing up or go to bed!

    April 30-May 6 is screen-free week: http://www.commercialfreechildhood.org/screenfreeweek/

    We did it last year and it was really great. Resets your habits back to the more reasonable end of addiction. I’m sure I’ll end up writing about it while it’s on.

    As for the phone, as a teenager I spent 4-8 hours a day on the phone. I kid you not. It’s my heroin/caffeine/cigarettes.

    • Karen April 4, 2012 at 4:29 am #

      Wow, that’s actually really disciplined Beth. I always had a rule of not watching TV (except the occasional kids’ TV) while Finn was awake. But the smartphone is all-too-often between the kids and our faces round here. I am going to tell Richard about your setup and see what he reckons. Rather inspired. It should be a bit easier in a way back in Aus, because Finn will be in school and Anika in preschool soon, so there will be all those hours to get the “important” internetting over with.

      • Suzysiu April 9, 2012 at 11:13 am #

        I’m very impressed too, but I don’t think I could do it. Or at least, as I prefer to spend my evenings watching TV, shower, read and early to bed, if I cut out daytime Internet i’d cut out the majority of social networking. I should cut down though. I read a SMH letter today which struck me, about how if you want your children to be smarter you should talk to them yet mothers everywhere are glued to their phones. (Currently trying to ignore toddler but keep her company as she goes to sleep/ delays going to sleep)

      • Beth April 13, 2012 at 1:22 am #

        Hi Suzysiu!

        How nice to have someone reading the blog that’s not just us 4!

        Och! There must be an impact of them seeing us glued to our devices, but parents get slagged on too much for every little thing, so I’m not going to just agree with that letter. Grrr! Actually, one impact of us being addicted to our screens is that we will hopefully be more understanding when our children get to an age where they too will be HOOKED. Recently had lunch with a friend and her teenaged daughters and she was discussing all the measures they had in place to stop them from binging on internets and I could totally identify with the teens’ lust for onlines!

        I used to have my phone next to me when helping Leo to sleep, and would pick it up the moment he was asleep – he would never let me play with it while he was compos mentis! I never thought I’d say this, but “happy memories”! I agree that social networking is a god-send for mums/parents who could otherwise feel isolated.

  5. Beth April 4, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Karen – you know what, after observing myself this arvo I am full of shit. I do check my phone while Leo is awake, but I try and make it quick, and not actually write emails or look at Facebook. Having phone with internet is dangerous isn’t it? I used to check for phone calls and messages, but now it’s so tempting to also check emails and notifications. Apologies for painting myself into a better light – I guess it’s what I aspire to but not there yet.

    We don’t have a TV, so that’s easier. I don’t open my computer unless Jeff is also around because he associates that with watching shows on the pooter, so it’s easier to just stay away from it.

    • Karen April 8, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Don’t worry, you totally still win 🙂 I am still inspired

  6. Suzysiu April 9, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Your council street cleaner truck driver is awesome, hey.
    Not boring to read!

    • Beth April 13, 2012 at 1:24 am #

      he sure is. What a champ.

      And! The lady working in the local post office insisted on buying Leo a toy cockatoo that he was telling “I love you so much” as an “Easter present”. Sheesh, kids bring out the sweetie in people!

Leave a Reply

