Battery – by Tabitha

24 Mar

I’ve really struggled with this week’s topic, because every time I try to think of what to write about, I get this song stuck in my head:

 

In my head, the word “battery” stands in for “ratties”. I can tell you that in my head there are many words that stand in for “ratties”. When I make some food I’m thinking snack-snack-snack-snack-snack-snackies, when I see a run-over rat on the road, I’m thinking flat-flat-flat-flat-flat-flatty. And on it goes.

I have been struggling with another battery-related song. This one is actually battery-powered.

Our neighbours have bought one of those child-sized cars for their kid to drive around in. As the car whirrs about on the street, it also plays two songs over and over again, both sung in a child’s voice which is – FACT – one of the most annoying sounds in the world.

The two songs are Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star and the alphabet. With the alphabet song, it’s the version we all know and love, right up until L-M-N-O-P, at which point, all the subsequent letters ARE SUNG OUT OF ORDER.

I would like to smash that car to pieces with a baseball bat-bat-bat-bat-bat-batty.

3 Responses to “Battery – by Tabitha”

  1. Beth March 24, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Ha hahahahaha! I will have that song stuck in my head forever now.

    Those cars are ridiculous. I’ve only ever seen one in real life and couldn’t help but think what a let down ages 5-16 are going to be for that kid before they can actually drive a real fucking car. Bull. Shit.

  2. Karen March 24, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    NO shit! That is a crappy toy.

    Also, I almost clicked the play button on that video. Just as well I saw what it was in time. You sneak you.

    As it is, I now have the one line I still remember going round in my head “And Uncle Matt Matt Matty!”. Can that really have been a line in the song? Maybe I’d better play it, just to check…

Leave a Reply

