Battery – by Karen

24 Mar

Nobody likes battery hens. I meant that no one likes the cruelty of it, but let’s be honest, battery hens are pretty unlovable. Not like these cute fluffy heritage breeds:

buff orpington      wheaten maran

Due to zeitgeisty forces that dictate my every move, thought and sympathy, I have been planning a home flock for when we get back to Australia. This is awesome in so many obvious ways: fresh eggs, pets, new poo scraping duties etc. But less obviously, it’s awesome because it puts me in touch with another of those niche Internet communities I mentioned on my fermentation post. Once again I’ve uncovered an intersection of Portlandia-style neurotics and members of ultra-conservative religious cults. Maybe hipsters are in fact covert members of an ultra-conservative religious cult, aiming to take over the world. Or cult members are actually hipsters in disguise. Either way I win, and not just because I like wearing headscarves.

Pure American wholesomeness? or something more sinister....

3 Responses to “Battery – by Karen”

  1. Tabitha March 25, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I think the Goulds are ripe for the picking by a cult seeking new members.

    • Beth March 29, 2012 at 1:06 am #

      Ha ha! That reminds me of the “Where does this chicken come from” sketch on Portlandia where they end up joining a chicken cult. Couldn’t find a copy of it that’s available outside of America, but just in case there are other Portlandia fans out there…

      • Karen March 31, 2012 at 5:28 am #

        I did indeed see it, and it made me feel very uncomfortable 🙂

Leave a Reply

