Disagreement by Beth

14 Mar

I am so bad at conflict that I had no idea what to write for this week. I usually avoid disagreements at any cost, so I even find writing about them uncomfortable. I snapped at my neighbour the other day when she made a comment about children that I disagreed with, and I’ve been feeling a bit bad about it every since. That’s how bad I am at conflict — a snappy “I disagree” counts as a “disagreement”. I’m an amateur!

Am trying to get better with conflict, but was parented by two of the best conflict avoiders and married another one, so it’s a veeeery slow process. Leo is not afraid of conflict, so there’s hope.

One Response to “Disagreement by Beth”

  1. mischb March 29, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    don’t be too hard on yourself, beth! i think everyone has certain issues or people who push their buttons and about which/ with whom they find it difficult to be even-tempered. just telling someone you disagree with them is probably a great way to handle conflict in these situations – resisting the temptation to get into an argument (always easier said than done for me). and i reckon you probably resolve other conflicts every day, without even noticing how good you are at it.

Leave a Reply

