Picture – by Karen

10 Mar

Reebok Thigh Girl

Pictures. There are a small handful that I see every day, some that I see every week, and an enormous number that pour out of the internet in a stream of pure novelty every waking hour of my life.

In my house I only have a few artworks, and all of them are by someone I know. Which just goes to show I guess, that I should get to know more artists, or that more of my non-artist friends should make art for me. Go on, I’ll pay! Or bake you something!

I find I see very little art I would like to buy, which may just be a result of living in expat Singapore, where a painting of a monk carrying a red parasol is considered unique and covetable.

This Reebok ad is featured on a huge shopfront in a mall I shop at weekly. I love it! I call her Reebok Thigh Girl, and she is my… ahem… fitspiration. *Jack Donaghy face of discomfort*. Speaking of Jack Donaghy and thighs, I am reminded of this Tina Fey quote, from Bossypants, which I will share with you now:

But I think the first real change in women’s body image came when JLo turned it butt-style. That was the first time that having a large-scale situation in the back was part of mainstream American beauty. Girls wanted butts now. Men were free to admit that they had always enjoyed them. And then, what felt like moments later, boom—Beyoncé brought the leg meat. A back porch and thick muscular legs were now widely admired. And from that day forward, women embraced their diversity and realized that all shapes and sizes are beautiful. Ah ha ha. No.

As far as taking pictures myself, I’m always conflicted by the desire to document more of my life and the sheer tediousness of getting meta in a flow-worthy moment, not to mention the post-production of uploading and editing (actually, who edits? but anyway…). When you live in Singapore, awesome photogenic things happen a lot, like this thing that happened to me Tuesday morning while I was drinking a cappucino:

When I’m on holidays, I usually do take photos. Which means I have disproportionate number of photos of magical locations compared to magical moments from every day life. But it does mean I get shots like this, which is one of my favourites:

For me it illustrates a sense of adventure, like in fairy tales when people would go off and “seek their fortune”. How I longed to seek my fortune! It always involved tying up some scant possessions in a kerchief, which dangled jauntily from the end of a long stick (“pole”), and marching off over a green and gently rolling hill. Actually if anyone can find an illustration of that, I would love to see it again.

7 Responses to “Picture – by Karen”

  1. Beth March 11, 2012 at 3:36 am #

    Dear Tina Fey! As a reluctant, broken hearted bottle feeder, I will never forget her line that formula is a complete source of … guilt and shame for any mother. She is gold.

    That photo of small person butt and shoes is mighty mighty cute too.

  2. Karen March 12, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    haha yes, another good line.

  3. Karen March 12, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    (speaking as a smug, self-satisfied breastfeeder of course!)

  4. Karen March 12, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    (did I mention judgemental?)

  5. Tabitha March 12, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    Is “fitspiration” a word that you just made up? Or is that actually A THING?

    I’ll make you some art, Karen! It will be really, really, really bad and yet you’ll be obliged to hang it in your house. AND make me a cake in return.

    • Suzysiu March 17, 2012 at 7:57 am #

      Great comment 🙂

    • Karen March 24, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      For real, fitspiration is a THING! And I am waiting for that art. I have a spot picked out in the chicken coop.

Leave a Reply

