Duty calls by Beth

27 Feb

Is “duty” the word for something that you do because of either perceived or real need, that you’d rather not have to do?

There are some massive undertakings we can see as anything but a burden, and other small, infrequent tasks that are looked upon with loathing and only done under sufferance. Surely a fair bit of the distinction between duty and privilege is down to our own perception.  Funny creatures aren’t we?

Speaking of creatures…. Today Leo and I ate lunch next to the gorilla enclosure at Taronga Zoo (we have a pass so I take him every week or two). They really know where it’s at. Just being. A pregnant gorilla sat there looking hot and pissed off, eating sugar cane and everyone else just let her be. The young males wrestled one another and beat their chests in jest almost – just a hint of the aggressive power evident in the crew-cut silverbacks. Those guys are scary mo-fos. A female sat with her infant staring off into space – keeping an eye out but also dreaming of something. A woman turned to me and remarked how the young ones were so like our young ones, to which I replied that we’re all of us like them. It’s just that kids are in touch with that.

Leo had a fever this weekend and we didn’t do much or get much sleep. While he slept I managed to fold and put away the washing, tidy the house a bit and prep dinner. Just as I typed that first thought he awoke, but when I went and got him he just fell back asleep in my arms, so I could type this (he must still be poorly). Today those chores felt welcome, like clearing the air, but I know sometimes I want to scream at the mounds of washing – “vamoose!”

Here’s us:

Hugs to you all in your outposts ladies. P.S. I think we should get Mischa to do a guest post!

4 Responses to “Duty calls by Beth”

  1. Suzysiu April 29, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    What excellent use of a Zoofriends membership! And what a poor sick darling.

    I have been meaning to ask, what will happen to this blog when two of the far flung four return to Australia?

    • Beth April 29, 2012 at 6:25 am #

      Hello!

      Must. Keep. Blog. Going! I love the ritual of writing it. I think we should keep the name, but just write about the history of how three of us are less far-flung than we once were. Or should we re-invent?! What do you think SuzySiu?

      • Suzysiu April 29, 2012 at 6:30 am #

        I think if you are happy to keep on writing you can continue as you are 🙂 The blog posts are not centered around the different countries you reside in (sometimes they touch on this but not always) but rather reflect different ideas and interpretations.

  2. Beth April 29, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    Thanks! I will tell the others we have support from one of our (two) faithful readers!!

Leave a Reply

