Delicate – by Tabitha

15 Feb

“Delicate” is not a word I like. Wan people are delicate, and you know how I feel about wan people.

I don’t like making delicate things, be they foods or crafts. They’re fiddly and intricate and time-consuming, and require patience.

I don’t like delicate issues that require sensitive handling or tact, because I have neither. And I don’t like people with delicate health, or fragile dispositions.

I don’t like subtleties. I don’t like pastels. And I don’t like the delicate washing cycle which always leaves clothes too wet to dry.

I like things that are robust, bold, vibrant, strong, distinct and overstated, such as the co-authors of this blog.

There’s only one thing worse than a delicate person, and that’s a person who hates delicate people having to admit they feel delicate themselves.

And that’s me, right now.

I have an enormous infected pustulous lump in my armpit, some kind of gross, angry staph infection. When I went to the doctor, they told me to wait until it was ready to burst, then come back. I waited two days, practically unable to move my arm, or find any comfortable position to sleep in, then returned. As soon as I gingerly raised my arm as much as I could for the doctor’s inspection, the lump erupted in an explosion of pus. I guess it was ready.

It turns out a pustulous armpit is exactly what it takes to throw me off my game. I came back to Hanoi with energy and excitement to Get Shit Done in our remaining few months, and instead I’ve spent the past five days in a self-pitying slump at my desk, precious petal that I am.

Is it because of this slump (and this lump) that I can’t even work out how to end this post? Will I be forever wan? All I know is I wasn’t wrong about people with delicate dispositions. They really are goddamn annoying.

 

6 Responses to “Delicate – by Tabitha”

  1. Beth February 15, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Ha ha, you know yourself Tabitha! Very funny and very true!

    I have had a couple of pustulous lumps in my time and they are FUCKED. Having an infection like that really takes it out of you. Permission granted to feel sorry for yourself.

    • Tabitha February 15, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      Roger that. Stand by for tantrum.

      WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!

      • Beth February 15, 2012 at 11:15 am #

        Hug! I’m a fully qualified hugger of tantrumers you know!

        Look after yourself you delicate flower you.
        x

  2. Karen February 15, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Pustulent armpit! Pustulent armpit! Pustulent armpit!

    (even better than face herpes!)

  3. Suzysiu April 29, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    You don’t like the delicate washing cycle… You make me laugh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Exposed – by Tabitha « Far Flung Four - May 30, 2012

    […] I tell you that the disgusting pus-filled staph infection I had in my armpit was likely contracted from the local beauty salon? The one where they dip the same spatula into the […]

Leave a Reply

