Dream job by Beth

7 Feb

Oh the sweet irony of picking this topic this week. Our organisation’s CEO announced a re-structure this week, and I spent this afternoon reading all the documents trying to figure out what it will mean for me and my team. I spent last night dreaming about the imminent arrival of a tidal wave that would kill me and everyone I knew. Connected? Yes. Who knew I cared so much?

I totally agree with Tabs that uncoupling the words “dream” and “job” from one another is a good move. It’s a very grown-up thing to do I think. Some people don’t need to uncouple them, but they are both rare and lucky and usually fucking hardworking and good at living on the smell of an oily rag.

The job I had before I went on maternity leave was great because I believed in the project and loved my co-workers, but the work itself wasn’t deeply satisfying or creatively fulfilling. I think the reason that the Apocalypse came to me in my dream last night was because I really love the part-time job I have at the moment. It’s creative and big picture and I am free to manage my own time most of the time. When you’re part-time you’re more vulnerable to job losses and changing of duties and I’m shit-scared this could happen to me. So, I count myself lucky that the job I have at the moment is: a) 2 days a week b) decent pay c) interesting d) a break from the monotony of parenthood e) creative f) leaves me with energy to pursue my own projects. I so hope none of these things change.

Now, to the “dream” part. Right now I’m in pre-production for my first radio documentary, in part thanks to the absolute arse whacking I got from Justyna (I loved that arse whacking BTW). I’m also making a recipe book for Tabitha. Small-medium projects are what works for me right now, and actually that’s a good thing because pre-Leo I would try to start bigger things and end up not finishing them. He’s also cleaved a lot of the perfectionism out of me – nothing like repeated contact with bodily fluids to take you right down to Earth.

5 Responses to “Dream job by Beth”

  1. Tabitha February 7, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Oh noes! Nothing like job insecurity to mess with your mind. Just try to ride that tidal wave, I guess… Fingers crossed for you and your team!

    Can we hear more about this radio documentary? Will you be using the skills we learned at 2SER?

  2. Beth February 8, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    Yes, going to attempt to ride it. Working 2 days a week makes it much easier to not let the insecurity affect you.

    Radio doco is just a practice one. It’s about parenting and what it’s taught different people, or what you are constantly learning and then needing to learn again. I’m being an investigative reporter, trying to decide whether or not to have another one, basically.

    Will I use the 2SER skills? Hmm, no. I think you were the best thing I got out of that training.

  3. Karen February 9, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    Small projects are great. I hope that one day the new-fangled technologies will make working on a stream of different ones a viable and reliable source of income for those so inclined.

  4. Justyna February 12, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Glad the absolute arse whacking helped. The radio doco better be online. I want to hear it. I want proof.

    I have never heard the ‘oily rag’ idiom before. And I love it.

  5. Suzysiu April 29, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Well done on the recipe book, such a great idea

Leave a Reply

