Tradition – by Karen’s friends

18 Jan

I am making a bit of a tradition of outsourcing my posts. On the cusp of Chinese New Year here in Singapore, I thought it would be meet to draw on the Chinese heritage of some of my friends, asking them the questions, “What CNY tradition do you enjoy, and why?” Most of them skipped the “why” bit, but some things go without saying.

“When I was a child, my parents told me and my brothers not to quarrel during Chinese New Year… for a good start to the year ahead!” – Mei Sheong Wong

“My favourite CNY festivity, is not being around for the fuss of it. Hahaha… sigh… best times are when I’m out of country.” – Yanyun Chen

“Love shopping for cny clothes, love doing visitings at my relatives’ and catching up with my cousins!

And not to mention munching on all the cny goodies…to me, cny is to bid goodbye to the previous year n welcoming a whole new year.” – Goh Sing Yee

“Reunion dinner. Meeting the rest of the clan, good times over good food.” – Yvonne Koh

“Food of course–we have steamboat and popiah several times a year, but yu sheng is purely a CNY thing. Also, when we pray to the big guy in the sky (Tua Pek Kong) it amuses me that different families have different stories–did he save our menfolk from the Manchus or the Japanese? Did our menfolk hide in the sugarcane or pineapple fields? And a tradition that I haven’t heard of outside our family–new pyjamas, with pockets, that we fill with angpao before bedtime. We also wear a bit of jewellery to bed, and sometimes also stuff ang pao into the pillowcase – like attracting like and all that!” – Chew Lin Kay

“meeting my paternal relations for a proper homecooked Teochew lunch, and marveling at how quickly baby cousins grow up.” – Huifen Zheng

“AANNNNGGGG PAAAAOOOOOOO” – YC Ang

 

 

 

Thanks guys, you are awesome and I feel rather festive just formatting all of that. I have been in Hong Kong and Singapore for over six years now, so lunar new year has become a part of the ebb and flow of life for me too. I don’t really have a tradition as such, but I must admit, I actually enjoy hearing the classic tone of CNY music played over a supermarket speaker. Gong Xi Fa Cai!

3 Responses to “Tradition – by Karen’s friends”

  1. Richard January 19, 2012 at 3:53 am #

    The office assistant just came around with a box of oranges, instructing everyone to take two. And so begins the annual spectacle of oranges atop monitors trading floor wide slowly growing mould and decomposing over the course of the next month. I already ate one of mine. What will happen?

  2. Tabitha January 19, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Awesome. And an interesting CHINESE perspective on LUNAR New Year for us.

  3. Chew Lin January 30, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    I really like the picture you chose for YC–extremely YC, and extremely appropriate! 😀

Leave a Reply

