The Plague

25 Dec

This is going to be a short one. I’ve only experienced one plague in my life. I’ve mentioned it before in one of the previous posts. The plague was a locust plague. And it was in Dubbo. It was 2004 and it was my second circuit work trip. Basically locusts were everywhere. In your hair, in your face, in the court room, in your bedroom, in your car. I would walk from the motel to work and would have to wag a stick in front of my face so that I wouldn’t be bombarded my the horrid flying creatures. They were splattered all over the place and oozed a yellow liquid when squashed. It was impossible to go for a jog because when running even at a minimal speed, it was impossible for your face or your bare legs to avoid locust collision. And once there was impact there was pain. The flying monsters caused you actual pain. The local tennis court would use its extra large rain gathering squeegee to remove all the locusts from the green. The Dubbo drivers learned quickly to wrap their front car grilles with fly screens to stop the locusts from entering the engines and radiators. Once the flying bugs were inside the grille, they quickly got fried and then they would leave a putrid smell throughout the whole car interior that apparently would whiff around for weeks. It was a character building experience because I really REALLY hate bugs and I didn’t leave early.

2 Responses to “The Plague”

  1. Beth December 26, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Wow. That would have been totally intense.

    It reminds me of the bogong moth infestation in Sydney in the late 80s. People were cooking and eating them because there were just so damn many of the things, and one got stuck in my friend’s eye and her eye got all gummed up for days. It was so gross.

    • Karen December 27, 2011 at 6:21 am #

      Omg

Leave a Reply

