Shit week in review – by Beth

13 Dec

We’ve had a shit week this last week. Jeff got bacterial conjunctivitis right after Leo’s party and a cold and then Leo and I followed suit. Ongoing coughs and mucus flowing thick and fast. All three of us were miserable, cranky bastards (mainly Leo and me actually). Just prior to turning 2 Leo suddenly lost interest in having a day nap which has altered my perceived quality of life markedly. I know how lucky I am that he ever even had choice naps but that hasn’t stopped me shedding actual tears about it. It’s a grieving process. The days where he doesn’t nap seem veeeeery long and I don’t get to touch my computer at all some days. I’m already figuring out how to work around it so I don’t go completely insane, but I can’t think of anything else to review before getting this out of my system. Right now Leo is watching the same 10-minute episode of ‘Chuggington’ on repeat enabling me to do this. Bloody hell I was so lucky that I used the time I had earlier this year to do ‘Breadtag World‘. [End whinge]

 

5 Responses to “Shit week in review – by Beth”

  1. Justyna December 15, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Feel your pain Beth. Being at home sick with the kid who is also sick is the absolute bottom of life. And when the kid no longer takes naps, well that’s just unthinkable. Regardless whether one is a believer or not, the ‘day nap’ is a gift from GOD. Gives even the most horrible of mums a chance at redemption.

    Kazek and I are both sick at the moment too. Daycare has gone out the window. But what has kept me sane, is that Kazek’s day naps are at the moment three hour marathons. I almost love life again.

    • Beth December 15, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

      Keep it up Kazek! I used to hear secular angels sing every time he had a sleep.

  2. Karen December 15, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    I think the bottom of life is being in hospital, looking after a breastfeeding baby with a gastrovirus, when you yourself are suffering from the same gastrovirus, and everyone in your ward snores. But that’s just me 😉

    You have every right to grieve the nap! Finn dropped his nap before 2 years old and I will forever regret not taking everyone’s advice. The advice was to immediately institute a “quiet time” where the child has to play by themselves (or for less conscientious mothers, watch tv). You can’t institute quiet time if you miss this window. I missed the window.

    • Beth December 15, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      Yes Karen, that gastro scenario sounds the pits.

      Oh gawd, Mother Regret! That would have to be in the top 5 worst things along with the gastro scenario.

      Thanks to your comment I just had an insane ramble to husband (co-carer) about instituting quiet time. Leo has kind of instituted it himself through his sudden desire to watch unlimited amounts of TV (extra fun when you don’t actually own a TV). I am finding the adjustment really hard, but he seems right-as-rein!

      • Karen December 19, 2011 at 6:35 am #

        I am glad I was responsible for an Insane Ramble. Mission accomplished!

Leave a Reply

