Retail by Beth

28 Nov

I’m tired, so I’ll make this brief.

I’m partly tired because I keep staying up late every night working on two books that I finally finished last night. They are relevant to today’s topic of retail because the possibility of making your own professional-looking version of anything you want is, I think, the best thing to have happened to retail in my lifetime.

I’ve made them both pre-viewable so you can have a look. First one is called Who’s Afraid of the Dark? and it’s a book my mum wrote years ago and got my grandmother to illustrate. It’s never been printed before (we just had the original watercolours, so it’s been pretty exciting to play with her images and my mum’s text). Felt like having a conversation between the three of us even though my grandmother died almost 20 years ago.

Second one is an ABC book for Leo. It’s full of in-jokes and all the stuff he’s into.

This is how the living room looked after the final shoot for the back pages with all the objects.

I also feel compelled to mention that between Jeff and I we do a hell of a lot of online shopping. I order our fruit and vegies online and I “win” a lot of stuff on eBay. Jeff disagrees that this is an accurate representation of the transaction seeing as I still have to pay money to the person I “win” the item off. Etsy is a guilty pleasure, and the other day I couldn’t get to the Made590 sale (it’s a suburb away), so I ordered stuff online from them. I am officially their biggest fan. We also seem to single handedly keep Better World Books in business.
4 Responses to “Retail by Beth”

  1. Justyna November 28, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Those books are amazing! I love them both! I love how your grandma’s illustrations are from another era. You can really feel how a hand from a different generation drew them. Beautiful. The story is ace too!

    Leo’s ABC Book is wonderful and an excellent commentary on your family life, friends, surroundings etc. I’m sort of jealous in a way that there are busy parents out there such as yourselves, who are still finding the time to do such super duper projects. Major pats on the back dudes.

    p.s. your second-last post on fermentation of the brain, can go, well, ferment itself.

  2. Tabitha November 29, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    Those books are amazing! You really went above and beyond with the last spread in the ABC one – I would personally have been jack of doing any more by then!

    • Beth November 30, 2011 at 4:10 am #

      Justyna – fair call.

      Tabs – re that last photo shoot of all the letters – it was a rainy morning with nothing else to do, so we went for it. I’ll insert a photo of how the living room looked three quarters of the way through the shoot into the post. Leo helped out with a lot of the photos we took, so it’s a joint effort.

  3. mischa December 19, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    beth, those books are awesome! and so is breadtag world. wow! creative talent seems to run in the family, huh! i concur with justyna re busy parents who still find time for rad projects. i’m sure leo will be stoked with his book now, and probably even more stoked when he grows up and realises how much love and effort you put into it.

Leave a Reply

