Courage – by Tabitha

16 Nov

For this blog post I was going to write a list of things I’m afraid of. When I got started, I realised that while there are lots of things I don’t like (such as flying), or am nervous of (such as horses’ enormous teeth-filled mouths), or would prefer to avoid (such as death), I have enough courage to confront all these things. There’s only one thing that I’m really, truly, afraid of, and it’s spiders.

Just thinking about spiders right now, I am involuntarily shuddering. When I see a spider – or at least a big one – I usually don’t see very much of it at all, as I evacuate the area as fast as my road-runner legs can carry me. My heart-rate goes crazy and my intestines clench. I once let out an uncontrollable blood-curdling scream, the likes of which I never even knew I had in me. It’s absolutely ridiculous. When I think that this is how some people must feel when they’re forced to do public speaking, all those years of school and uni presentations seem like particularly cruel torture.

Once I was in the front seat of a taxi going over the Harbour Bridge when an enormous huntsman ran across the windscreen. My first reaction was to reach for the door and throw myself onto the road in a blind panic, but as soon as I did so, the taxi driver grabbed the UBD and squashed the spider with a thwack, and it fell dead onto the dashboard. I then said “Oh! You didn’t have to kill it!”

The taxi driver gave me exactly the kind of look I deserved.

4 Responses to “Courage – by Tabitha”

  1. Beth November 16, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    I don’t think I really knew this about you. Or at least I’ve seen you react crazily to spiders and just thought they got you at a bad time.

    Do you mean that you actually did open the door and try to throw yourself out?!

    Are there lots of spiders in Vietnam?

  2. Tabitha November 18, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Well, I shock even myself at how much of a physical effect they have on me, the dear little things. And yes, I did actually achieve door openage, but I failed to take off my seatbelt, so it was a poorly thought-through plan on many levels. I bet the taxi driver is still telling that story too.

    Thankfully there are barely any spiders in Hanoi, but one day there was an enormous (much bigger than any huntsman I’ve seen) grey furry spider on our downstairs door. I had to check under my bicycle seat for weeks after that.

  3. Justyna November 19, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I think I remember you telling me this story when I was in Oz for Edd’s wedding. I remember being a bit taken aback by your complete lack of rationality! Not a very Tabitha thing to do at all!

  4. Karen November 21, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    I still remember you and Richard screaming like girls and scaring the hell out of me when you spotted that darned spider near Shek O in Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

