Courage by Beth

14 Nov

Courage (also bravery, boldness, fearlessness, mettle, fortitude, or intrepidity) is the ability to confront fear, pain, danger, uncertainty, or intimidation.

Ah, mettle. Fortitude. There are some words you don’t hear often enough. Mettle sounds so hardcore. Resilience is hot right now though. Bit of a buzz word.

I wouldn’t describe myself as a particularly courageous person, but I’m working on building up my resilience. Resilience and courage beget one another in a nifty positive feedback loop. Just gotta get on the right track.

I had a totally life-changing thing happen to me a couple of years ago – life didn’t go as I had hoped. And that, coupled with several other factors, led me to spiral into anxiety and the darkest bout of depression I hope I ever experience. It was deeply humbling.

Doing something about that episode in my life… reaching out for help; admitting that I wasn’t perfect; climbing back up that spiral Tabs was talking about a few weeks back, felt like the hardest thing I’ve ever done. But it was also the most rewarding. There’s not a day that goes by now where I don’t feel gratitude for my recovery and all the things I learned along the way.

2 Responses to “Courage by Beth”

  1. Tabitha November 16, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    It’s funny how you don’t really connect with the word “courage” but you do with “mettle” and “fortitude”, as I’m exactly the same. I feel like I’m reserving “courage” for people who overcome unimaginable adversity and danger and I’m happy to just be a “bold and brassy lady” in comparison.

    But I don’t think this means you’re not courageous, because you are!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heightened by Beth « Far Flung Four - February 21, 2012

    […] bubbles) a fair bit as a kid. I was an intense teen. In my adulthood I have had an episode of pretty extreme anxiety and depression, and some pretty up and down times aside from […]

Leave a Reply

