Where the homing pigeons roam – by Beth

24 Oct

One of my favourite things in the whole world is watching a flock of homing pigeons going for a fly to stretch their wings. Marrickville luckily, sports the highest ratio homes to homing pigeons I’ve ever seen, and almost every day I see a flock go for one of their organised fly-pasts, with all the precision of an airshow. Do you have homing pigeons where you are? I’m guessing maybe not, but you never know…

I took these photos in our backyard yesterday afternoon. I find it hard to describe their manoeuvres, so I was grateful of the excuse to call it a spiral (this week’s theme). Like a genie let out of a lamp, they soar into the sky as if connected by invisible spiderweb, turning corners sharply as one, in order to stay close to home. After several swoops, they decide they really ought to be getting back to their home (probably prompted by food). They gracefully spiral down back down and into their roost, like water down a plug hole. I wonder if they spiral down in a different direction in the northern hemisphere?

3 Responses to “Where the homing pigeons roam – by Beth”

  1. Tabitha October 25, 2011 at 2:04 am #

    I think I might have mentioned on my blog how they released 1000 white pigeons in Hanoi for the city’s 1000th anniversary and they all got sick and died or were caught and eaten. I’ve always loved pigeons (as you well know!) but I’ll make sure to love them even more when I get back to Australia.

    • bmktaylor October 25, 2011 at 4:10 am #

      Oh yes, I remember that now. I think I must have blocked it out 😦

      • Justyna October 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

        I only like Australian pigeons. I hate Krakow pigeons. In fact they are not even pigeons, but flying rats. They are fat and lazy and shit on really old architecture that the city cannot afford to clean fast enough. Their horrible, acid poo destroys buildings that are hundreds of years old. Plus, if you live close enough to the city centre you cannot use your balcony or hang your washing out, because pigeon shit gets in the way.

        When you’re living in a small, crowded European city, pigeons take on a whole new status. The status of yuk.

        But yours Beth, are free and nice and pretty.

Leave a Reply

