Essential by Leyla by Karen

19 Oct

I made myself a little bored contemplating what essential meant to my navel this week, so I decided to ask someone else.

This is my friend Leyla, the person I happened to meet up with on this fine Far Flung Four posting day.

The head growing out of her abdomen is called Sebastien. Ok, it’s not a growth, it’s an exceptionally beautiful child. But whatever. We are here to find out what is essential to Leyla.

The most delightful thing about interviewing for my entry this week, aside from not having to do any work, was watching the beautiful thoughtful softening that crosses someone’s face when you ask them a serious question.

Leyla was quite keen that I rewrite her words rather than uploading the recording, which I consider self-sabotage when your accent is as lovely as hers, but alright. Here are Leyla’s thoughts on essential.

I guess when I think of essential I think of the things I can’t live without, and that makes me think of  my outlook on life. So let me see. Respect for life I think is essential. Not just human beings but life around us. I’m trying to make a bigger effort to [interrupted by child, speaks in French]… to be more appreciative of how important life is – for example we were talking just now about cruelty in Halal practices. I used to just think, well that’s a cultural practice and all cultural practices are to be respected, but now I don’t think that way so much any more. I’m planning to make a bigger stand that yes, there are religious issues, but it’s more important that life is respected. And yes, we kill animals and you could say we shouldn’t do that, but if you are going to kill animals, you can at least do it humanely. 

Essential to me is also about relationships. Having balanced relationships, caring relationships. I’m a very social person, and I think as humans we all need to have people around us. But essential means making sure that that’s not harmful  – that there’s a good dynamic in the relationship and that it’s more mutually respectful. 

We’ve talked about religion before. One of the reasons that I want to be more verbal about evolution is that, when you realise how long it took for all these people to be here, that would be one way to know how precious, how unique the world is.

Without being harmful, while being respectful, there are some things that are essential that should be brought up. So I’m going to make an effort to stand up a bit more about what I believe in, rather than worrying about whether people like me. To put things that are essential in the forefront. 

4 Responses to “Essential by Leyla by Karen”

  1. hanoitabitha October 20, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    This Leyla sounds awesome. What moving, thoughtful words. And Karen, how lucky you are to have friends like this!

    • bmktaylor October 20, 2011 at 2:59 am #

      Agreed! That’s the type of conversation I would like to have in a coffee shop with a friend.

      Speaking of the look someone gets when you ask them an important question… yesterday Leo said to me “Mummy, what do you want?” No particular context, just in general conversation about some random thing. I had to skip a beat. Makes you realise how rare it is for someone to ask a question like that. I said I’d need to get back to him on that and thought and said something about health, peace and happiness, by which time he’d gone back to playing cars, unaware of the places he’d inadvertently sent my mind to.

  2. kgo October 20, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Yep, I am often astounded at what amazing friends I have.

    • kshyva October 21, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I really like this interview idea Karen! Really tops. Wish I had thought of it. Might copy it down the track…

Leave a Reply

