Essential ingredients for an extremely satisfying day – by Tabitha

18 Oct

Today I finished an epic piece of English-editing work which had been paining me greatly. Not only because of its practically unintelligible English, but because it was crammed with an insane amount of Clip Art which would leap around the document whenever I tried to make changes. The document author had actually created entire little scenes out of individual pieces of Clip Art. Amazing!

Saying goodbye to all my little Clip Art friends would make today satisfying enough on its own, but here are Ten Other Things That Made Today A Satisfying Day For Me.

1. We received our wedding rings in the mail. This was particularly satisfying as we purchased the rings online from a discount retailer based in Orem, Utah, which is an anagram for “ear mouth” and also “ham outré”. And despite what everyone tried to convince us would happen, the rings did arrive, and they are exactly what we want, and they do fit perfectly. So suck on that, haters.

2. At circuit training this morning a new guy turned up who is 23-years old, Irish and of normal size and shape. I then proceeded to outdo him on all the exercises, including push-ups, which I do LIKE A MAN, and then he VOMITED IN THE TOILET from exhaustion. My god, was that satisfying! The trainer then said to him, “That 30-something housewife just kicked your butt” which was both satisfying (butt kicking) and a little alarming (30-something housewife).

3. A fruit vendor up-sold me on a second pomelo after assuring me it was “rất ngon” which means very delicious. I was sceptical, but she was telling the truth. That pomelo was freaking rất ngon. Win.

4. I scrubbed the label off a jar of Bonne Maman jam (which was being used to store icing sugar, or rather, as we recently discovered, a fully-functioning ant farm) so it could become the latest addition to my “deconstructed terrarium”. This is essentially a collection of jars, bottles and a teapot whose lid broke which I’m using as vessels to grow cuttings from our houseplant. I saw how to do this while visiting Karen Gould’s house, and to me it is the perfect way to have greenery in the home without having to invest in pot plants. While discussing this with Karen at the time, she mentioned that she doesn’t like variegated plants, which struck me as a very specific and unfair beef to have with nature.

5. Nathan called to ask if I wanted to go out to dinner to celebrate the completion of my English-editing work. Even though I had already shopped for dinner, this was an extremely satisfying reminder of what a thoughtful and wonderful fiancé I have.

6. I made a rất ngon dinner of green bananas with tofu and turmeric, and rice paper rolls with pineapple and egg. I look forward to wheeling out dishes like this for the rest of my dinner party-hosting life. However, if I were to buy the ingredients for this meal in Australia, it would probably cost a lot more than the $3.50 it cost here (satisfying). But maybe I can use that as fodder for dinner party conversation: “When we were living in Vietnam, a darling old lady with black teeth would have sold me this jicama for 20 cents”.
7. The title of this post reminded me of the shop The Essential Ingredient, and of their inexplicable – but awesome – logo of a goose, whose silhouette used to loom over Parramatta Road.

8. I fulfilled some key domestic duties including putting the washing up away, making the bed, doing the vacuuming and putting on two loads of laundry. The completion of household tasks is always extremely satisfying to me. I think one of my top ten most defining character traits would be “houseproud”.

9. Our upstairs neighbour, Maddy, come over after dinner to play Settlers of Catan. We have played that game so embarrassingly often over the past two years and yet every game holds new excitement for me. One of the most entertaining aspects of playing the game is how seriously Nathan takes it. He’s not so much competitive as serious. One time, after he won for the third time in a row, and Simon, Sarah and I were complaining about the boringness of his repeated victories, he had a full-blown tantrum about how we didn’t give him due praise for his game-playing skill and only bemoaned his success. And he was not joking. We all sat there in silent shock. He is also very serious about the condition of the Settlers of Catan game pieces and is always wiping up condensation from glasses which might dampen a game tile. And then one day he spilled an enormous cup of boiling hot lapsang souchong all over the entire game. That was a very satisfying day indeed. Maybe even more satisfying than today.

10. While walking to the market I thought I saw a horse coming down the street, but it was actually just two girls on a bicycle. And then, as I rounded the corner, I thought I saw a large teddy bear standing by the side of the road, but it was actually just the cardboard box for a child’s wading pool. I would have preferred a horse and a teddy bear, but just the thought of them was satisfying enough. Also, an indication that I’ve drunk too much tea today.

8 Responses to “Essential ingredients for an extremely satisfying day – by Tabitha”

  1. Richard October 18, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I also bought my wedding ring off the internet. It was lost 3 years later in a plate of chili crab. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

    • hanoitabitha October 19, 2011 at 2:25 am #

      Wow! Maybe you ate it!

      • kgo October 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

        That’s the one place we didn’t look.

  2. Karen October 19, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    This must have been a very satisfying post to produce.

    • hanoitabitha October 19, 2011 at 2:24 am #

      It was! It was the eleventh most satisfying thing that happened.

      • kshyva October 19, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

        There’s no gold in Vietnam? Oh, and does this mean that I can send you stuff without it disappearing??

      • hanoitabitha October 20, 2011 at 1:13 am #

        Oh man, they LOVE gold here, but the gold jewellery is this blindingly bright yellow stuff that they favour for some reason, and it was more expensive than in Orem, Utah anyway. And no, you can’t really send us stuff: the rings were sent through DHL via Australia. We remain a mail-free-zone.

  3. bmktaylor October 19, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    You’re gorgeous Tabitha

Leave a Reply

