Thems the rules – by Beth

10 Oct

Hmm, interesting topic. I had a bit of trouble thinking what to write about: my failure as a student of yoga, trying to teach myself to do the splits again … but I’ve decided now.

Jeff and I aren’t overly rule bound with Leo, but there are some rules in our house. You know they’re rules when your 1.8 yr old can recite them back for all and sundry.

  1. No shoes on bed. (He said it to our neighbour last week when she came by for some ‘bed tip’ – favourite game of her’s. He also says it to himself as he climbs on the bed, even when he’s not wearing shoes).
  2. Soap. Not for hair. (Unfortunate repeated desire to wash hair with sorbelene – yes yes, Aunty Tabitha would be proud, but it makes your hair go yucky when it’s giant globs of the stuff).
  3. Hold hands. Busy road.
  4. Time for sleep. (as in, can’t stay up all night dude).

Jeff and I often have little rules going on for ourselves. I think I was greatly influenced by my Dad’s rules about food for himself when I was an adolescent. Such as alcohol every second day, or, cheese only on Tuesdays, Thursdays and weekends. Which then turned into peanut butter only on Wednesdays, Fridays and Mondays, because he was pigging out on peanut butter. He never made anyone else follow them but I was impressed by his will power.

My current rules are: dessert on Saturday nights only (both of us following this which makes it so much easier). I am practicing a “no emotional eating” rule, which is going pretty well. I spoke to a friend about her ex-boyfriend’s evil-doings last week and I didn’t even think to reach for a sweet treat of some kind! This is quite a revelation for me. Also, tomorrow will be the start of a screen-free week for us, so no pooter or TV for me until next Monday. It always feels really good to not have the lazy option of surfing the internet and checking your email a million times a day, but unfortunately we need a rule to make it happen.

3 Responses to “Thems the rules – by Beth”

  1. hanoitabitha October 11, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    That’s still quite a lot of peanut butter, Alan…

  2. kshyva October 11, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    You and Jeff would not pass the Polish Parent test. No way near enough rules. No way near enough of the word ‘no’.

  3. kgo October 13, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    Have you tried macadamia nut butter? It’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

